The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Spokane Shock Spokane Shock

Shock Fall Short of Comeback in 43-54 Loss to Soul

Sunday April 5, 2015

Philadelphia QB Raudabaugh passes for 305 yards and 6 TDs.

SPOKANE, Wash. (April 4, 2015) – The Spokane Shock (0-2, 0-0) hosted the Philadelphia Soul (2-0, 0-0) in Week 2 of the 2015 Arena Football League regular season on Saturday, April 4 at Spokane Veteran’s Memorial Arena in front of 8,635 fans. Spokane fell to Philadelphia by a final score of 43-54.

Soul quarterback Dan Raudabaugh completed 27 of 47 passes for 305 yards, six touchdowns and two interceptions as he earned Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Game honors. Wide receiver Marco Thomas, J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Game, led all receivers with 14 receptions for 146 yards and one touchdown. Three other Philadelphia receivers also recorded receiving touchdowns (McDaniel-2, Kauleinamoku-1, Boyce-2). The Soul defense recorded two interceptions in the contest (Romain, Robinson).

Spokane quarterback Jarrett Brown started the game and completed 7 of 14 pass attempts for 89 yards, two touchdowns, two interceptions, and added two rushing scores. He would be relieved in the third quarter by recently acquired veteran quarterback Matt Bassuener, who finished the night completing 3 of 11 pass attempts for 49 yards and one touchdown. The Shock receiving effort was led by Mike Washington with four receptions for 66 yards and one touchdown. Defensive back and Riddell Player of the Game Devon Dace led the Shock defense with 6.5 total tackles, one interception, and two pass breakups.

Philadelphia jumped out to a 14-0 lead in the first quarter after recovering a fumble on Spokane’s opening kickoff return. Soul offensive lineman Adam Smith recovered a Philadelphia fumble in the end zone to take the 7-0 lead.  On Spokane’s ensuing possession the Shock failed to convert on fourth down, setting up a 26-yard touchdown pass from Raudabaugh to McDaniel. Shock quarterback Jarret Brown would respond with a 10-yard touchdown run to bring Spokane back within one score to end the first quarter with Philadelphia leading 14-6.

The two teams would combine for 43 total points in the second quarter. The Shock opened with an interception by Devon Dace on a tipped Raudabaugh pass setting up Brown’s second rushing touchdown of the game from 13-yards out to shorten the Shock deficit 13-14. Following a pair of Soul touchdowns to extend their lead to 27-15, the Shock answered with a 45-yard pass from quarterback Jarrett Brown to receiver Nick Truesdell. Spokane would force Philadelphia to a turnover on downs creating another Shock touchdown pass to Mike Washington. Philadelphia was able to close the second quarter and take back the lead 34-29 on a 4-yard touchdown pass from Raudabaugh to Boyce.

Philadelphia opened the second half with a pair of unanswered touchdowns coming on a 1-yard run by Tommy Taggart and 17-yard reception to Marco Thomas from Raudabaugh. After a turnover on downs by Philadelphia, the Shock were able to respond with backup Quarterback Matt Bassuener under center as he connected with Mike Washington for a 34-yard reception setting up  a 7-yard touchdown pass to Rashaad Carter to end the third quarter with the Shock trailing 47-36.

Following an exciting first three quarters of play, the two teams would only combine for two scores in the fourth quarter. Soul quarterback Dan Raudabaugh would find receiver Xavier Boyce for his second score of the game on a 20-yard pass. Spokane would record a final touchdown of the contest on a 9-yard touchdown run by quarterback Matt Bassuener as the Shock would fall short of a comeback, losing by a final score of 43-54.





















1st Quarter

12:15 – PHL – Smith 0-yard fumble recovery (Frevert PAT) PHL 7-0

06:59 – PHL – McDaniel 26-yard pass from Raudabaugh (Frevert PAT) PHL 14-0

03:23 – SPO – Brown 10-yard run (Rowan PAT missed) PHL 14-6

2nd Quarter

13:27 – SPO – Brown 8-yard run (Rowan PAT) PHL 14-13

09:35 – PHL – McDaniel 5-yyard pass from Raudabaugh (PAT fumbled) PHL 20-13

09:35 – SPO – Fitzgerald PAT fumble return PHL 20-15

06:52 – PHL – Kauleinamoku 25-yard pass from Raudabaugh (Frevert PAT) PHL 27-15

05:25 – SPO – Truesdell 45-yard pass from Brown (Rowan PAT) PHL 27-22

01:44 – SPO – Washington 9-yard pass from Brown (Rowan PAT) SPO 29-27

00:03 – PHL – Boyce 4-yard pass from Raudabaugh (Frevert PAT) PHL 34-29

3rd Quarter

10:32 – PHL – Taggart 1-yard run (Frevert PAT blocked) PHL 40-29

08:23 – PHL – Thomas 17-yard pass (Frevert PAT) PHL 47-29

01:08 – SPO – Carter 7-yard pass from Bassuener (Rowan PAT) PHL 47-36

4th Quarter

03:14 – PHL – Boyce 20-yard pass from Raudabaugh (Frevert PAT) PHL 54-36

00:42 – SPO – Bassuener 9-yard run (Rowan PAT) PHL 54-43



Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Game: PHL QB Dan Raudabaugh

Riddell Defensive Player of the Game: SPO DB Devon Dace

J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Game: PHL WR Marco Thomas

Cutters Catch of the Game: SPO WR Nick Truesdell 45-yd TD catch in 2nd quarter

AFL Highlight of the Game: PHL Onside Kick recovery in 2nd quarter leading to 3 unanswered PHL TDs


The Shock go on the road in Week 3 to take on the Portland Thunder at the Moda Center in Portland, Oregon on Thursday, April 9with a 7:00 p.m. PT kickoff. Following their Week 3 game the Shock will have their first bye week of the 2015 regular season.

The Shock host “Kid’s Night” against the Orlando Predators on Saturday, April 25 at 7:00 p.m. at the Spokane Veteran’s Memorial Arena (720 W Mallon) for their second home game of the season. Single game tickets are on sale at all TicketsWest box office locations, at the Spokane Arena box office and at





The Spokane Shock strive to deliver to our fans a high quality entertainment experience while serving and representing the Inland Northwest on and off the field as a proud member of the Arena Football League.


The Spokane Shock is a professional arena football team of the Arena Football League from Spokane, Washington, USA. They play their home games at the Spokane Veterans Memorial Arena. The Shock played their first four seasons in the former af2, winning division titles in all four seasons and ArenaCups in 2006 and 2009 before joining the AFL and winning ArenaBowl XXIII in their first season. The Shock will kick off their 10th Anniversary Season in 2015. Tickets and Sponsorships are available. For more information visit our website at or call 509-242-7462. You can also follow the Shock on Facebook,TwitterInstagramVine, and YouTube.