The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Tampa Bay Storm Tampa Bay Storm

Storm falls to New Orleans, defeated by the VooDoo 54-51

Saturday June 15, 2013

 New Orleans, LA – The Tampa Bay Storm (7-6, 2-3) fell to the New Orleans VooDoo (3-9, 2-2) Saturday evening at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, in front of a crowd 4,758 fans, by a score of 54-51. The Storm pulled within three points in the final minutes of the game but it was not enough in the end. The game also saw Storm quarterback Adrian McPherson surpass the 10,000 career passing yards mark.

The Storm offense was initially led by McPherson who rushed eight times for 15 yards and two touchdowns. He would complete 13-of-21 passes for 147 yards and a touchdown before being relieved by Randy Hippeard in the third quarter. Hippeard connected on 13-of-18 passes for 195 yards and two touchdowns. The Storm’s leading receiver was Chris C. Davis. He caught 11 passes for 121 yards and a touchdown.

VooDoo quarterback Kurt Rocco, who did not play in the May 4 matchup, made his presence known from the start. He would lead the New Orleans offense, completing 17-of-31 passes for 210 yards and six touchdowns. Rocco would also rush for a score as well.

The Storm’s defensive backfield was swarming forcing Rocco to make two costly errors. On the opening drive of the third quarter Storm defensive back Chris Smith intercepted a pass, Smith’s eighth of the season. In the fourth quarter, defensive back Jean Fanor returned an interception 45 yards for a touchdown. Fanor now has five on the season and is tied with De’Audra Dix for second-most on the team.

The New Orleans defense was firing on all cylinders. The team accounted for two sacks and a forced fumble. The unit was led by Cameron McGlenn who had seven tackles and two interceptions. VooDoo defensive lineman Xavier Brown had two blocked kicks while Michael Janac collected one as well.

The Tampa Bay Storm returns home to take on the Chicago Rush at the Tampa Bay Times Forum this coming Saturday, June 22…Kickoff is set for 7:30 PM ET.