The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Orlando Predators Orlando Predators

Predators Add Rookie QB Chase Cartwright

Thursday March 24, 2016

 ORLANDO – March 24, 2016 – The Orlando Predators have announced the acquisition of rookie quarterback Chase Cartwright, who was added to the team’s training camp roster Wednesday. Cartwright enters his first season in the Arena Football League after attending rookie minicamp with the Chicago Bears in 2015.

“Chase brings a professional approach and is a student of the game,” said Head Coach Rob Keefe. “This is his first experience in Arena Football, but he has all the requisite physical tools and is picking up the game quickly. We’re excited to see how he continues to develop with more experience.”

Cartwright (6-3, 220, Northern Arizona) threw for 2,809 yards with 23 touchdowns and seven interceptions during his career at Northern Arizona. As a senior, he started five contests and threw for 1,465 yards with 12 scores and only three interceptions while adding one rushing touchdown.

Cartwright first entered the starting lineup as sophomore in 2012, when he led the Lumberjacks to a 17-14 victory over UNLV, marking Northern Arizona’s first win over an FBS team since 1987. He started two games before being sidelined by injury, but returned in 2013 and earned NAU’s Comeback Player of the Year Award. The highlight of his junior season came in a come-from-behind victory over Sacramento State in which Cartwright helped the Lumberjacks erase a 17-point third quarter deficit and earned Big Sky Co-Offensive Player of the Week honors for his performance.

A native of Phoenix, Arizona, Cartwright prepped at Corona del Sol High School, where he was a three-year starter and set a school record with 35 career touchdowns.

The Orlando Predators celebrate their 25th Anniversary in 2016 as Central Florida’s most exciting and innovative professional sports franchise. Proud members of the Arena Football League, the Predators have achieved unprecedented success on the field. Orlando has advanced to the AFL playoffs a league-leading 22 times in their history while securing seven conference championships, including two ArenaBowl Championship victories in 1998 and 2000.