The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Tampa Bay Storm Tampa Bay Storm

Storm wins overtime thriller in Iowa, defeats the Barnstormers 62-56

Saturday June 14, 2014

 Des Moines, IA – The Tampa Bay Storm (7-6, 3-3) defeated the Iowa Barnstormers (6-7, 0-4) on Saturday evening in front of 8,862 fans by a score of 62-56. The win extended the Storm’s win streak to four games, its longest streak since the 2010 season.

The overtime period saw the Storm receive the ball first but a turnover saw Iowa take possession. However, the Storm defense would prove to be too much for Iowa in the overtime period, forcing a turnover on downs. Storm quarterback Randy Hippeard went on to rush for an 11-yard game-winning touchdown.

Tampa Bay was led by Hippeard who had another strong performance. Hippeard completed 24-of-34 passes for 289 yards and six touchdowns. He would also rush five times for 33 yards and three touchdowns including the game winner. He connected with all of his receivers, finding T.T. Toliver eight times for 94 yards and two touchdowns. Storm receiver Joe Hills led all receivers with three touchdowns. This is Hills’ 30th consecutive game with a receiving touchdown.

The Storm defense put out another strong outing, with a goal line stand early in the second quarter. The defense would also hold strong in the third quarter, forcing a turnover on downs. The defensive line tallied a sack, giving the team its fourth consecutive game with a sack. The defense also held on a key fourth down in overtime, helping set-up the game-winning drive.

Iowa quarterback J.J. Raterink finished the night with 398 yards and six touchdowns, completing 34-of-56 passes. His top target of the night was receiver Marco Thomas who caught 12 passes for 118 yards and three touchdowns, including the touchdown and 2 point conversion that sent the game into overtime.

UP NEXT – The Storm will host “Local Heroes Night” on AMALIE Motor Oil Field as it takes on the Orlando Predators in the final installment of the “War on I-4” at the Tampa Bay Times Forum on Saturday, June 21. Fans will be able to watch on Bright House Sports Network. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m. EST.