The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Tampa Bay Storm Tampa Bay Storm

Storm blows through Pittsburgh, defeats the Power 62-34

Sunday May 19, 2013

 Pittsburgh, PA – The Tampa Bay Storm (6-3, 2-1) defeated the Pittsburgh Power (2-6, 1-0) Saturday evening at the CONSOL Energy Center, in front of a crowd 4,625 fans, by a score of 62-34 The game saw Storm quarterback Adrian McPherson rush for his 24th touchdown of the season, breaking the Tampa Bay Storm record for most rushing touchdowns in a season.

The Storm offense was led by quarterback Adrian McPherson who rushed four times for 29 yards and a touchdown. The rushing touchdown gave him 24 on the season, breaking the Storm single-season record for most rushing touchdowns. He would complete 20-of-22 passes for 240 yards and six touchdowns. He connected with Greg Ellingson ten times for 96 yards and three touchdowns. Michael Lindsey had a pair of scores on five receptions for 80 yards. The game also saw the return of Joe Hills who had six receptions for 79 yards and a touchdown.

The defensive line set the tone for the night, forcing Power quarterback Steven Sheffield to throw ill-advised passes. The line had three tackles for a loss of nine total yards. Mack Linebacker Rodney Beamon found Sheffield for a sack of five yards.

The defensive backfield got in on the action and took advantage of the Power’s mistakes. The Storm accounted for a total of four interceptions. De’Audra Dix had two interceptions and Chris Smith reeled one in also. Local Plant High School product James Harrell returned an interception for 38 yards and a touchdown.

Sheffield would complete 20 passes for 250 yards, two touchdowns and four interceptions. His primary target was Mike Washington who caught six passes for 90 yards and a touchdown. Domminie Pittman had a sack for the Power defense. It would finish the night with four tackles for a loss of 16 yards.

The Tampa Bay Storm returns home to take on the Philadelphia Soul on Military Appreciation Night, at the Tampa Bay Times Forum this coming Saturday, May 25…Kickoff is set for 7:30 PM ET.