The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

af2 Press Release

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton DB Micheaux Robinson named Aaron's Defensive Player of the Year

Friday August 14, 2009


CHICAGO – Wilkes-Barre/Scranton DB MICHEAUX ROBINSON has been named the Aaron's Defensive Player of the Year, as selected by a vote of arenafootball2 head coaches and members of the media. Robinson was also named to the American Conference All-af2 First Team last week.
In his second season in the af2 and with the Pioneers, Robinson continued to dominate on defense, picking up where he left off in his stellar rookie season. This year, Robinson led the league in several defensive categories, including interceptions (14) and passes defended (49 – 35 pass breakups, 14 INTs). He also ranked second in the af2 in total tackles with 99.5.
Robinson had a team-best 14 interceptions for Wilkes-Barre/Scranton in 2008 and is the club’s current all-time leader with 28. He is also tied with teammate CHRIS ROYAL for the team single-season interception record (14).  
Robinson's play helped the Pioneers become one of just four teams in 2009 to hold their opponents to under 40 points per contest (39.3 – 3rd in af2). The 5-foot-9, 180-pound former Otterbein standout was also a big reason why Wilkes-Barre/Scranton was able to limit its opponents to league-low marks in completion percentage (51.6) and touchdown passes (64).
Robinson has continued to play well in the 2009 af2 playoffs as the No. 1 seed Pioneers have knocked off the Albany Firebirds and Kentucky Horsemen in successive weeks. In his team's two wins thus far, Robinson has racked up four interceptions, 11.5 tackles and one pass breakup. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton hosts Green Bay this Saturday night in the American Conference Championship where the Pioneers can earn a chance to play in their second ArenaCup in the last three seasons.  
Robinson joins an impressive list of past Defensive Player of the Year winners that include Joe Sykes (Green Bay – 2008), Levi Brown (Florida – 2007), Alex Wallace (Bakersfield – 2006), Dahnel Singfield (Memphis – 2005), Traco Rachel (Laredo – 2004), Kahlil Carter (Arkansas – 2003), Kelly Snell (TennesseeValley – 2002), Earnest Certain (Tallahassee – 2001) and Cornelius Coe (QuadCity – 2000).
The 2009 af2 playoffs continue this Saturday, August 15 with the American and National Conference Championship games. On the American side, the No. 1 seed Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Pioneers host the No. 6 seed Green Bay Blizzard at 7 PM ET. The No. 1 seed Spokane Shock host the No. 2 seed Tulsa Talons at 10 PM ET on the National side.
Tickets to the 2009 ArenaCup in Las Vegas are available by visiting, all Coast Casinos box offices, The Galleria at Sunset or by calling 800-675-3267 and mention code: ARENACUP.
About Aaron's
Aaron's, Inc. (NYSE: AAN), the nation's leader in the sales and lease ownership and specialty retailing of residential and office furniture, consumer electronics, home appliances and accessories, has more than 1,630 Company-operated and franchised stores in 48 states and Canada. Founded in 1955 by entrepreneur R. Charles Loudermilk, Sr. and headquartered in Atlanta, Aaron's has been publicly traded since 1982.
Remaining 2009 af2 Award Announcements:
Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Year – Tuesday, Aug. 18
JLS Ironman of the Year – Wednesday, Aug. 19