The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Arena Football League Announces Free Agency Schedule

Friday March 1, 2019

Free Agency to Begin March 4

Philadelphia, Pa. – The Arena Football League (AFL) announced today that its free-agency period will begin on Monday, March 4.

“This is a great time of the year for AFL players, coaches, and of course, our wonderful fans, as our six teams work to select players and fill rosters,” said Randall Boe, Commissioner of the Arena Football League. “We’re all looking forward to the kickoff of the AFL season on April 26.”

Under the AFL’s agreement with the AFL Players Union, athletes sign one-year agreements with teams. All eligible individuals who finished the 2018 season on a team’s roster, along with those who did not participate in the AFL in 2018, are considered free agents and therefore are eligible to sign with teams at the start of free agency.

Each team will be able to sign 35 players to its initial roster. During training camp, rosters will be reduced to 24.

“We think that the AFL’s unique free agency rules gives every team, including the newest teams in Atlantic City and Columbus, an opportunity to build a winning franchise and makes for an exciting, competitive league,” said Boe.


Tryouts for the AFL’s two newest teams in Columbus, Ohio, and Atlantic City, N.J., will take place in the coming weeks. The Atlantic City team’s tryouts are scheduled for Saturday, March 30, at Total Turf Experience in Pitman, N.J., and details for the Columbus Destroyers’ tryouts will be made available by the Destroyers soon.

Training camp for all teams will begin for all teams in early April. During the 21 days prior to each team’s first game of the AFL regular season, there will be 14 days of training camp, followed by game-week practice in preparation for the team’s season openers.

Season Tickets are still available for this season, and further information about tickets can be found on the teams’ individual websites:

Albany Empire

Atlantic City AFL

Baltimore Brigade

Columbus Destroyers">Philadelphia Soul

Washington Valor


The Arena Football League enters its 32nd season in 2019. Since its inception in 1987, the AFL showcases a fast-paced, exciting game to a significant number of fans in a myriad of markets. With the addition of two new teams in Atlantic City, N.J., and Columbus, O.H., the League totals six teams for 2019: Albany, Atlantic City, Columbus, Baltimore, Philadelphia and Washington D.C. Each team will play 12 regular-season games in 2019. The League can be found on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook using the handle @OfficialAFL.