The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Awards Week 12 Players of the Week

Tuesday June 27, 2017

 Soul teammates, Kauleinamoku and Richardson, sweep the league’s weekly awards

LAS VEGAS – The Arena Football League has announced that Philadelphia Soul wide receiver Shaun Kauleinamoku and defensive back Kent Richardson have been named the offensive and defensive players of the week for Week 12, respectively.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE WEEK – Kauleinamoku (5’9”, 185, Western Oregon) caught six passes for 143 yards and three touchdowns in Philadelphia’s 59-28 win over the Cleveland Gladiators in Week 12. He has now caught three or more touchdowns in a game 15 times in his career.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE WEEK – Richardson (6’0”, 200, West Virginia) amassed 5.0 tackles, forced two fumbles and intercepted a pass in the Soul victory over the Gladiators last week. This was the five-year veteran’s first game with the Soul this season.


WEEK 1 – Washington’s Mike Washington (Offensive) and Tampa Bay’s Ceasar Rayford (Defensive)
WEEK 2 – Philadelphia’s Darius Reynolds (Offensive) and Baltimore’s Dexter Davis Jr. (Defensive)
WEEK 3 – Tampa Bay’s Randy Hippeard (Offensive) and Alvin Ray Jackson (Defensive)
WEEK 4 – Philadelphia’s Ryan McDaniel (Offensive) and Dwayne Hollis (Defensive)
WEEK 5 – Tampa Bay’s Randy Hippeard (Offensive) and Paul Stephens (Defensive)
WEEK 6 – Tampa Bay’s Joe Hills (Offensive) and Philadelphia’s Sean Daniels (Defensive)
WEEK 7 – Tampa Bay’s Joe Hills (Offensive) and Philadelphia’s Joe Goosby (Defensive)
WEEK 8 – Baltimore’s Shane Carden (Offensive) and Josh Victorian (Defensive)
WEEK 9 – Cleveland’s Arvell Nelson (Offensive) and Rayshaun Kizer (Defensive)
WEEK 10 – Philadelphia’s Dan Raudabaugh (Offensive) and Tampa Bay’s LaRoche Jackson (Defensive)
WEEK 11 – Philadelphia’s Darius Reynolds (Offensive) and Cleveland’s Kenny Veal (Defensive)


The Arena Football League is now in its 30th Anniversary Season in 2017. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. Teams slated for 2017 include: Baltimore, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Tampa Bay and Washington D.C. CBS Sports Network nationally broadcasts AFL games each week during the regular season. The Road to ArenaBowl XXX begins Saturday, August 12. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@aflarenaball).