The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Arizona Rattlers Arizona Rattlers

Arizona Rattlers Announce Move to the Indoor Football League

Monday October 17, 2016

Rattlers 25th season will be it’s first in the new league

Phoenix, Ariz.
– The Arizona Rattlers announced today that they will be moving from the Arena Football League (AFL) to the Indoor Football League (IFL) for the 2017 season.

Video of Arizona Rattlers owner, Ron Shurts, discussing the decision to make the move from the AFL to the IFL, and what the fans can expect next season, can be seen via the following link: Rattlers Owner Ron Shurts on IFL Move

The Rattlers played their first season in the AFL in 1992, and had spent 24 seasons in that league. Arizona will celebrate their 25th season as a newcomer to the IFL.

"We are excited about competing in the IFL,” said Shurts. “Our loyal fan base and the Rattlers brand have always been my number one concern. This change affords our fans an opportunity to enjoy many more years of success and allows the Rattlers brand to continue to grow."

In the 24 seasons in the AFL, the Rattlers have amassed the most wins (279 wins), the most ArenaBowl appearances (ten appearances) and the most championships (five championships) than any other team. Arizona will strive to bring the same success and commitment to excellence to the IFL.

The Arizona Rattlers will continue to play at the Talking Stick Resort Arena located in downtown Phoenix, and General Manager and Head Coach Kevin Guy will continue to lead the team.

“We are excited about our new opportunity in the IFL and looking forward to a great partnership,” Guy said. “The Rattlers are committed to putting a first-class product on the field. We have a lot of work to do before training camp starts. Every league has different rules and nuances and we will adjust accordingly. As a coaching staff, we welcome the new challenge. Recruiting is our number one priority as it is every year. Our main focus will be identifying, developing, and branding the product. We are very happy that Rattler Nation will have the opportunity to continue enjoying the Rattler brand.”

The Rattlers will join the Iowa Barnstormers and the Spokane Empire (formally the Spokane Shock), who have also left the AFL for the IFL.

“We get to renew some old rivalries and start some new ones,” Said Guy. “There are a lot of great coaches in the league and I have a lot of respect for them.”

For more information, head to
About the Arizona Rattlers
The Arizona Rattlers were founded in 1992, and are proud members of the Indoor Football League (IFL). The Rattlers spent 24 seasons in the Arena Football League (AFL), and in that time made ten appearances in the ArenaBowl, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit