The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Guy and Dolezel named Marcum-Moss Head Coaches of the Year

Friday August 26, 2016

 Kevin Guy and Clint Dolezel Cap Off Impressive Seasons with Award

GLENDALE, AZ (August 25, 2016) – The Arena Football League Office announces that Arizona Rattlers head coach Kevin Guy and Philadelphia head coach Clint Dolezel are the 2016 Marcum-Moss Head Coaches of the Year.

Guy guided the Arizona Rattlers to a 13-3 regular season record. In his eighth season as head coach of the Rattlers, the future Arena Football Hall of Famer has established himself as one of the best to have coached the game. Under Guy’s guidance, the Rattlers were a perfect 8-0 at home during the 2016 season and ranked first in the League in both scoring offense (66.8) and in most sacks (29). This is the second-time Guy was selected as the Marcum-Moss Head Coach of the Year (2011). ArenaBowl XXIX will be Coach Guy and the Rattlers’ fifth appearance in six years.

Dolezel led the Philadelphia Soul to a 13-3 regular season record. In his fourth year as head coach of the Soul, the Arena Football Hall of Famer continues to solidify himself as on the finest minds in the game. Under the tutelage of Dolezel, the Soul were 7-1 at home and ranked number one in the AFL in interceptions (25) and sacks allowed (5). This is Dolezel’s second Marcum-Moss Head Coach of the Year and is the first head coach to win the award back-to-back since John Gregory of the Iowa Barnstormers won in 1995 and 1996. Dolezel will be guiding the Soul to their second ArenaBowl appearance as head coach.

Head Coach of the Year
2016    Kevin Guy         Arizona
2016    Clint Dolezel     Philadelphia
2015    Clint Dolezel      Philadelphia
2014    Steve Thonn      Cleveland
2013    Bob McMillen    Chicago
2012    Ron James          Utah
2011    Kevin Guy           Arizona
2010    Les Moss            Jacksonville
2008    Mike Wilpolt     Cleveland
2007    Doug Plank        Georgia
2006    Will McClay       Dallas
2005    Doug Plank        Georgia
2004    Mike Neu           New Orleans
2003    Todd Shell          New York
2002    Darren Arbet     San Jose
2001    Michael Trigg    Grand Rapids
2000    Darren Arbet     San Jose
1999    Mike Dailey        Albany
1998    Tim Marcum      Tampa Bay
1997    Eddie Khayat      Nashville
1996    John Gregory     Iowa
1995    John Gregory     Iowa
1994    Perry Moss        Orlando
1993    Danny White    Arizona
1992    Perry Moss        Orlando
1991    Fran Curci          Tampa Bay
1990    Ernie Stautner   Dallas
1989    Vito Parilli           Denver
1988    Perry Moss         Chicago
1987    Tim Marcum      Denver



The Arena Football League enters its 29th Season in 2016. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl on ESPN. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@aflarenaball).