The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL announces Commissioner's Award, Executive of the Year

Thursday August 25, 2016

 LA’s Donovan Morgan, Arizona’s Chris Presson Honored

LAS VEGAS (August 25, 2016) – The Arena Football League Office announces that Los Angeles wide receiver Donovan Morgan has won the Commissioner’s Award, while Arizona Rattlers Team President Chris Presson has earned AFL’s Executive of the Year for the 2016 Season.

Morgan (6’3, 215, Pearl River C.C.) capped a tremendous career in 2016 by earning Second Team All-Arena honors for his 113 receptions for 1,462 yards and 41 receiving touchdowns and three rushing scores. The Commissioner’s Award recognizes an individual who has done considerable work to grow the game of Arena Football.

Morgan, who earned Rookie of the Year honors in 2008, announced earlier this season that this was his final season as a player. The eight-year veteran finished his career with 907 receptions (No. 9 all-time) for 12,732 yards (No. 7 all-time) and 290 receiving touchdowns (No. 5 all-time).

Morgan played for the Chicago Rush (2008), Tulsa Talons (2010), Philadelphia Soul (2011-12), New Orleans VooDoo (2013) and the Los Angeles KISS (2014-16).

AFL Executive of the Year: Arizona’s Chris Presson

Presson finished his second season as team president of the Arizona Rattlers. Under Presson’s guidance, the Rattlers led the AFL in attendance and have significantly increased their sponsorship partnerships. Arizona continues to be a leader in the community through their player appearances and outreach activities and are currently playing for a League record sixth ArenaBowl title.

Presson has spent 21 years in the sports management field and has been involved with numerous sports including professional hockey, baseball, basketball, golf, tennis and soccer. Over his career, the Oklahoma State alum has been the general manager for three teams that have won championships – two hockey and one in basketball.

The Arena Football League is in its 29th Season in 2016. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl XXIX on Friday, August 26 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@aflarenaball).