The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Arizona Rattlers Arizona Rattlers

GM/HC Guy Named Marcum Ross Head Coach of the Year

Thursday August 25, 2016

Guy shares award with Soul HC Dolezel


Phoenix, Ariz. – The Arena Football League (AFL) announced that Arizona Rattlers’ general manager and head coach Kevin Guy has been honored with the AFL Co-Marcum Ross Head Coach of the Year award.  He is sharing the award with Philadelphia’s Clint Dolezel. This is his second time Guy has won the award.

Kevin Guy is in his eighth season coaching the Rattlers.  His career record with the Rattlers is 118-38.  This season he has led the Rattlers to their fifth ArenaBowl appearance in six seasons.

Before Guy took the Rattlers in 2008, the team finished 4-12 and was near the bottom of the League. In 2008, Guy led the Rattlers to an 8-8 record and a postseason berth. In 2010, the Rattlers improved their record again, this time to 10-6. Since then, the Rattlers have not missed the playoffs, and have appeared in the ArenaBowl five times.

Guy was also awarded the Coach of the Year award in 2011 after taking the team 16-2, and earning their first trip to the ArenaBowl since 2004.

The Birmingham, Alabama native has also been inducted in two halls of fame.  He was inducted into the af2 Hall of Fame in 2009, and the West Alabama Hall of Fame in 2015.

For more information, head to" target="_blank" data-saferedirecturl="" style="color: rgb(17, 85, 204);">

About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers have won five ArenaBowl championship games and are proud members of the Arena Football League (AFL). ArenaBowl XXVII marked the team's ninth appearance in the Championship game, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit