The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL honors off the field performances

Monday August 22, 2016

 Front Office, Medical, Equipment Teams, Official Recognized

LAS VEGAS (August 22, 2016) – The Arena Football League Office announces the winners of the Front Office/Support Staff of the Year, Sports Medicine Team of the Year, Equipment Manager of the Year and Fox40 Official of the Year.

Front Office/Support Staff of the Year: Tampa Bay Storm

The Front Office/Support Staff of the Year award was given to the Tampa Bay Storm for the second consecutive year. This award recognizes the entirety of the front office support including public relations, sponsorship, ticketing, football operations and management. The Storm were led by Chairman Jeff Vinik, CEO Steve Griggs and President Derrick Brooks. The staff includes: Vice President of Football Operations Jeff Gooch, Director of Player Personnel Dave Wilson, Administrative Coordinator Bryanna Reveiz, Media Relations Manager Ben Shotten, Football Operations Coordinator Brandon Lang, Head Athletic Trainer Leigh Baker, Head Equipment Manager Paul Brace, Director of Storm Cheerleaders Kindra Ebanks, Medical Director Michele Pescasio, MD, and Chiropractor Dr. Susan Welsh.

Sports Medicine Team of the Year: Cleveland Gladiators

The Sports Medicine Team of the Year recognizes the team’s head athletic trainer, Jeff Lambert-Schemo, along with team physician Dr. Scott Singer. Several other medical staffs garnered consideration as well, including Philadelphia’s trainer Kevin Sze and Dr. David Rubenstein and Dr. Demetri Menegos, Arizona’s trainer Sean McMannes and Dr. Shelden Martin, and Tampa Bay’s trainer Leigh Baker and Dr. Johnathan Phillips.

Equipment Manager of the Year: Todd Conner, Arizona Rattlers

Todd Conner, a seven-year veteran to the Rattlers staff, earned his second consecutive yearly honor. Philadelphia Soul equipment manager Tyler Newhart was a finalist for the award after his second season with the team, as well as Los Angeles’ Jay Rosario.

Fox40 Official of the Year: Tom McCabe

Tom McCabe has been officiating in the AFL for 16 years. In 15 of those 16 years, he has worked the playoffs including five Conference Championship games. McCabe will be officiating his first ArenaBowl.

The Arena Football League is in its 29th Season in 2016. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl XXIX on Friday, August 26 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@aflarenaball).