The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Returns to Conference Postseason Format

Tuesday July 19, 2016

 Teams Will Battle For Conference Titles Prior to ArenaBowl XXIX

LAS VEGAS (July 19, 2016) – The Arena Football League Board of Directors announced today that the postseason for the 2016 Season will return to the traditional conference format. The American and National Conference Championship games will be played the weekend of August 13-14.

“In light of the season’s results, teams will be seeded by conference for first two rounds. This will enhance strong regional rivalries and make it convenient for our loyal fans deciding to follow their team on the road,” AFL Commissioner Scott C. Butera said.

The Arizona Rattlers (12-3) have already clinched the National Conference regular-season title and will face the Portland Steel (2-12) on Saturday, August 6 at 10 p.m. ET (CBS Sports Network) in the First Round. The Los Angeles KISS (7-7) and Cleveland Gladiators (7-8) will face in the other National Conference postseason game with the site and date still to be determined.

In the American Conference, the Philadelphia Soul (12-3) and Orlando Predators (12-3) will face in the final week of the regular season on Saturday, July 30 at 7:30 p.m. ET (WatchESPN) for the regular-season conference title. The winner will host the Tampa Bay Storm (1-13), while the other will host the Jacksonville Sharks (5-9) in the postseason.

x Clinched the Conference Regular Season Title
* Clinched a First Round Home Postseason Game

About the AFL

The Arena Football League enters its 29th Season in 2016. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl on ESPN. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@aflarenaball).