The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Rattlers, Soul clinch First Round home games

Tuesday June 28, 2016

 Orlando, Arizona, Philadelphia to Host First Round Games

LAS VEGAS (June 27, 2016) – The Arena Football League announced today that with Sunday’s 64-49 victory over the Los Angeles KISS, the Arizona Rattlers have clinched at least a Top 4 seed for the 2016 Postseason and are guaranteed to host a First Round game.

Also, with Philadelphia’s 59-38 victory over the Portland Steel on Monday night, the Soul have secured at least a Top 4 seed and are guaranteed a First Round home game. There are 18 total weeks of play and the League is currently entering Week 14.

The Rattlers are currently in the top spot of the National Conference with a 10-3 record and are also currently No. 2 in the Postseason Standings based on overall record. With three games left, Arizona needs one victory or a Cleveland loss in the remaining games to clinch the National Conference title which would guarantee at least the No. 2 seed.

The Soul (10-3) are currently one game behind Orlando in the American Conference, but won their previous meeting between the two and face the Predators one more time in the final week of the regular season at Amway Center in Orlando on Saturday, July 30. Philadelphia is currently the No. 3 seed based on overall record.

The Orlando Predators (11-2), currently the No. 1 seed, have already clinched a home postseason game last week.

The Cleveland Gladiators are No. 4 based on overall record. The Los Angeles KISS are currently No. 5 based on head-to-head with the Jacksonville Sharks, who are No. 6, but the two play each other one more time on Saturday, July 23. No. 7 Portland Steel hold the head-to-head tiebreaker over No. 8 Tampa Bay Storm.

· All teams will participate in a postseason tournament format.
· There will be one (1) conference champion and three (3) wild cards in each conference.
· Seeding in each Conference is based on overall record, with the top record in each conference reserved the Conference’s No. 1 seed (overall No. 1 and No. 2, respectively) (i.e.: Team A in American Conference has the top record at 12-4. Team B has second best record in the American Conference at 11-5. Team C in the National Conference has a record of 10-6; Team A earns No. 1 see, Team C earns No. 2 seed and Team B earns No. 3 seed)
o No. 1 and No. 2 seeds: one team from each conference with the best overall record
o No. 3 through No. 8 seeds: best overall records amongst all remaining AFL teams (based on tiebreakers)

About the AFL

The Arena Football League enters its 29th Season in 2016. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network nationally broadcast AFL games each week, culminating with the ArenaBowl on ESPN. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram (@aflarenaball).