The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Arizona Rattlers Arizona Rattlers

Two Former Rattlers Return to the Arizona; Acquire Two Former NFL Draft Picks

Monday November 9, 2015

 Phoenix, Ariz. – The five time world champion Arizona Rattlers have been assigned four players for the 2016 Arena Football League (AFL) season on Monday.

Two of the players assigned to the Rattlers have played for Arizona in the past. Quarterback Shane Boyd was brought on last season and won a critical game in Spokane. Defensive back Allen Chapman started in eight games for the Rattlers in 2014. Offensive lineman Zack Williams has played for the Orlando Predators (2014) and the Las Vegas Outlaws (2015). Offensive lineman Rokevius Watkins is a rookie to the AFL.

QB Shane Boyd (6-2, 220, Kentucky) threw for 424 yards and nine touchdowns last season as a Rattler. Boyd has played in the AFL for four seasons, and in that time he has thrown for 3,273 yards and 56 touchdowns.

The Fort Huachuca, Arizona native spent time in the National Football League (NFL) with the Arizona Cardinals, Tennessee Titans, Houston Texans, Indianapolis Colts, and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Boyd played for the Kentucky Wildcats from 2001 to 2005, where he started in 16 games, throwing for 2,484 yards and 13 touchdowns.

DB Allen Chapman (5-11, 185, Kansas State) is entering his third season in the AFL. His first season (2014) he played in 14 total games for the Rattlers and starting eight. Last season Chapman started two games for the Portland Thunder. Overall, Chapman tallied 53.5 total tackles, five pass breakups, and four interceptions.

Chapman spent two seasons at Kansas State, where he totaled 107 tackles, six interceptions, two of which were returned for touchdowns, and 15 passes defended. Prior to Kansas State, Chapman played for the City College of San Francisco, where he earned 39 tackles, 10 interceptions, two fumble recoveries and one sack.

The San Francisco, California native attended Oak Grove High School, where he twice earned the All-Blossom Valley Athletic League first team, Mt. Hamilton Division honors, in 2007 and 2008.

OL Rokevious Watkins (6-5, 340, South Carolina) was selected in the 5th round (150th overall) in the 2012 NFL draft by the St. Louis Rams. He spent the 2012 season with the Rams, playing in one game. In 2013, Watkins was signed by the Kansas City Chiefs, where he played in three games, starting one.

Watkins attended the University of South Carolina, where he was awarded first team All-SEC honors in his 2011 season. Watkins also attended Georgia Military College in 2007 and 2008.

The Fairburn, Georgia native attended Creekside High School, where he helped the Seminoles advance to the third round of the state playoffs.

OL Zack Williams (6-3, 310, Washington State) played for the Orlando Predators, starting in 16 games (including two playoff games) in 2014. He also played in three games for the Las Vegas Outlaws in 2015.

Williams was selected in the 6th round (203rd overall) in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. He spent the entire 2011 season on injured reserve for the Panthers. In 2012, he was on the Panthers practice squad for the first half of the season before he was activated and played in a game. He spent the rest of the 2012 season on injured reserve.

Williams attended Washington State University, where he was named All-Pacific-10 Conference honorable mention, and was selected to play in the East-West Shrine game in 2010. Williams also attended Glendale College where he was selected to Western States Conference First Team, and was named California Community College Football Coaches Association (CCCFCA) Region All-State First Team and honorable mention JC Gridwire All-American at center. He also garnered CCCFCA Region III All-America honors.

The Pasadena, California native attended Pasadena High School where he was twice named to All-Pacific League first team along with second-team all-league honors on defense and team MVP.

For additional information please visit

About the Arizona Rattlers

The Arizona Rattlers have won three straight ArenaBowl championship games and are proud members of the Arena Football League (AFL). ArenaBowl XXVII marked the team's ninth appearance in the Championship game, winning in 2014, 2013, 2012, 1997 and 1994. For tickets, call 602-514-TDTD (8383), or visit