The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Philadelphia's Breen, Jacksonville's Sykes named AFL Linemen of the Year

Tuesday August 25, 2015

 LAS VEGAS – The Arena Football League Office announced today that Philadelphia Soul center Shannon Breen has been named Spalding Offensive Lineman of the Year and Jacksonville Sharks defensive end Joe Sykes has been named VidSwap Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Breen (6-4, 305, West Virginia Wesleyan) anchored a Soul offensive line that allowed just 10 sacks in 2015. The four-year AFL veteran and back-to-back All-Arena selection started 17 games this year in his first season in Philadelphia, firmly establishing himself among the best the game has to offer. This is Breen’s first Spalding Offensive Lineman of the Year selection and the first time a member of the Soul has won the award.

Sykes (6-5, 290, Southern) enjoyed perhaps the most dominant individual season of any pass rusher in AFL history, setting new Arena Football records with 18.5 sacks and 10 forced fumbles in 2015. Now a three-time Defensive Lineman of the Year winner and the first Jacksonville Shark player to come away with the award, Sykes ranks third in AFL history with 53.5 career sacks.

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2015 season. This season will also be the first with Scott C. Butera leading the way as Commissioner. The AFL schedule culminates with ArenaBowl XXVIII Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.