The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Grady, Robinson, and Jackson earn weekly honors

Tuesday June 30, 2015

 Truesdell and Falls also awarded for weekend’s highlights

LAS VEGASJacksonville Sharks quarterback Tommy Grady has been awarded Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Week, while Philadelphia Soul defensive end Bryan Robinson has been awarded Riddell Defensive Player of the Week, and Jacksonville Sharks Jack linebacker Alvin Ray Jackson has been awarded J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Week for Week 14 of the 2015 Arena Football League season. In addition to these awards, the AFL is also awarding the Cutters Catch of the Week and AFL Highlight of the Week. The Cutters Catch of the Week has been awarded to Spokane Shock wide receiver Nick Truesdell, while the AFL Highlight of the Week has been awarded to New Orleans VooDoo fullback Roosevelt Falls.

Grady (6-7, 250, Utah) was nearly perfect in Week 14, tossing seven touchdown passes against just three incompletions in the Sharks’ 74-41 rout of the Cleveland Gladiators. The former League MVP finished the night 23-of-26 for 284 yards, eclipsing 26,000 career passing yards in the process, while moving into eighth-place in AFL history with 583 career scoring strikes.

Robinson (6-3, 290, Wesley) accounted for two defensive scores in Week 14, recording a safety and returning a fumble recovery 34 yards for a touchdown in the Soul’s 64-42 victory over the Tampa Bay Storm. Credited with two tackles and a sack last week, Robinson now ranks 11th in AFL history with 41.5 sacks in his six-year career.

Jackson (6-1, 200, Albany State) starred on defense and special teams in the Sharks’ 74-41 victory over the Cleveland Gladiators last week. He led the team with 8.5 tackles, including a half-tackle for loss, to go along with an interception and fumble recovery at Jack linebacker. He also scored the first kick return touchdown of his AFL career in the game, taking a kickoff to the house from nine yards out in the third quarter.

Truesdell (6-7, 240, Cincinnati) used his massive wingspan to haul in a nine-yard touchdown pass with one hand in the second quarter of Spokane’s 27-62 loss to the San Jose SaberCats in Week 14. The 6-foot-7 receiver finished the game with 12 receptions for 99 yards and two scores. He will receive a Cutters hat and shirt in recognition of the catch.

Falls (6-2, 250, Louisiana Tech) cracked SportsCenter’s Top 10 Plays after scooping up a fumbled snap just before halftime and taking it in for an 18-yard touchdown in New Orleans’ 43-56 loss to the Orlando Predators in Week 14. The VooDoo’s Ironman scored two offensive touchdowns in the game in addition to collecting a half-tackle on defense.

Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Week candidates included: LA’s Danny Southwick, Orlando’s Randy Hippeard, Philadelphia’s Dan Raudabaugh, Portland’s John Martinez, and San Jose’s Erik Meyer.

Riddell Defensive Player of the Week candidates included: Jacksonville’s Chris Smith, LA’s Rayshaun Kizer, Orlando’s Austin Brown, Portland’s Dexter Davis, and San Jose’s Ken Fontenette.

J Lewis Small Playmaker of the Week candidates included: Arizona’s AJ Cruz, Jacksonville’s Alvin Ray Jackson, Las Vegas’ Dennis Havrilla, Orlando’s Larry Brackins, Philadelphia’s Marco Thomas, and San Jose’s Reggie Gray.

The Arena Football League is also awarding the MVP of the Week, where fans are given the opportunity to select the winner. Candidates include Jacksonville Sharks defensive back Chris Smith, Orlando Predators wide receiver Larry Brackins, and San Jose SaberCats defensive back Ken Fontenette. Fans will have 24 hours to vote on beginning at 1 p.m. ET on Wednesday, July 1. The winner will be announced on Thursday, July 2.

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2015 season. This season will also be the first with Scott C. Butera leading the way as Commissioner. The AFL schedule culminates with ArenaBowl XXVIII Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.