The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Coffman, McAdoo, and Young earn weekly honors

Tuesday June 23, 2015

 Gregory and Victorian also awarded for weekend’s highlights

LAS VEGASSpokane Shock quarterback Carson Coffman has been awarded Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Week, while Arizona Rattlers defensive end Mike McAdoo has been awarded Riddell Defensive Player of the Week, and Las Vegas Outlaws wide receiver Gerald Young has been awarded J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Week for Week 13 of the 2015 Arena Football League season. In addition to these awards, the AFL is also awarding the Cutters Catch of the Week and AFL Highlight of the Week. The Cutters Catch of the Week has been awarded to Tampa Bay Storm wide receiver Julius Gregory, while the AFL Highlight of the Week has been awarded to LA KISS defensive back Josh Victorian.

Coffman (6-3, 215, Kansas State) completed 20-of-32 passes for 328 yards and a career-high nine touchdowns in his first start since Week 6. The fourth-year pro connected with wide receiver Nick Truesdell on five of those scoring strikes, propelling the Shock to victory over the Portland Thunder, 69-54, in Week 13.

McAdoo (6-7, 250, North Carolina) was a force to be reckoned with in Week 13, leading the Arizona Rattlers with 7.5 tackles, two sacks, and a pass breakup in the team’s 55-35 win over the Orlando Predators. The rookie pass rusher has now recorded a sack in four straight games.

Young (5-10, 170, Charleston Southern) tied the AFL record for most combined kick return touchdowns in a single season with his seventh of the year in the Outlaws’ 31-63 loss to the San Jose SaberCats in Week 13. Young, who has totaled five kickoff return scores and a pair of missed field goal return touchdowns thus far in 2015, finished last week with 268 all-purpose yards, finding the end zone on a 56-yard kickoff return and a goal line carry.

Gregory (6-4, 225, Shaw) earned Cutters Catch of the Week honors for the second straight week after hauling in the game-winning touchdown pass in the back corner of the end zone with three seconds to play in Tampa Bay’s 52-48 victory over the Cleveland Gladiators in Week 13. A top contender for AFL Rookie of the Year honors, Gregory has caught a touchdown pass in seven consecutive games and multiple touchdown passes in each of the last five. He will receive a Cutters hat and shirt in recognition of the catch.

Victorian (5-10, 190, Louisiana Tech) capitalized on a rare mistake from AFL MVP candidate Dan Raudabaugh, intercepting a pass in the end zone and returning it 52 yards for a score in the third quarter of LA’s 48-56 loss to the Philadelphia Soul in Week 13. The KISS defense, which had secured just three interceptions prior to acquiring Victorian and fellow defensive back Rayshaun Kizer four weeks ago, has since recorded seven interceptions with the pair in the lineup.

Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Week candidates included: Arizona’s Nick Davila, Philadelphia’s Dan Raudabaugh, San Jose’s Darius Reynolds, and Tampa Bay’s Jason Boltus.

Riddell Defensive Player of the Week candidates included: Cleveland’s Willie McGinnis, Philadelphia’s Kent Richardson, Portland’s Andre Martin, and San Jose’s Fred Obi.

J. Lewis Small Playmaker of the Week candidates included: Arizona’s AJ Cruz, Cleveland’s Amarri Jackson, LA’s Donovan Morgan, and Spokane’s Nick Truesdell.

The Arena Football League is also awarding the MVP of the Week, where fans are given the opportunity to select the winner. Candidates include Arizona Rattlers Jack linebacker AJ Cruz, Spokane Shock wide receiver Nick Truesdell, and Tampa Bay Storm wide receiver Julius Gregory. Fans will have 24 hours to vote on beginning at 1 p.m. ET on Wednesday, June 24. The winner will be announced on Thursday, June 25.

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2015 season. This season will also be the first with Scott C. Butera leading the way as Commissioner. The AFL schedule culminates with ArenaBowl XXVIII Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.