The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Orlando Predators Orlando Predators

Preds Add Former NFL Draft Pick to Secondary

Friday May 15, 2015

 Defensive Back Rod Issac Joins Orlando Predators

ORLANDO – May 14, 2015 – The Orlando Predators have agreed to terms with veteran defensive back Rod Issac, the team announced Thursday.

Issac (5-11, 195, Middle Tennessee State) played two seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars after being selected in the fifth round of the 2011 NFL Draft (174 overall). He entered the Arena Football League as a rookie with the Tampa Bay Storm in 2013, posting seven tackles after starting in the regular season finale.

Issac returned to the Storm in 2014 and delivered 82.0 total tackles, including a one-yard tackle for loss. He added 12 pass breakups, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery while also returning two of his four interceptions for touchdowns.

A native of Miami, Florida, Issac played collegiately at Middle Tennessee State University, where he started at cornerback opposite current Orlando Predators defensive back Arness Ikner. As a senior in 2010, he earned First-Team All-Sun Belt accolades after delivering 54 tackles with 4.5 stops for loss, nine pass breakups, three interceptions, two forced fumbles, and one fumble recovery.

The Orlando Predators return to the Amway Center in Week 8 to battle the Tampa Bay Storm in the “War on I-4” on Saturday, May 16 at 7:00 p.m. EST. The rivalry game will be nationally televised on CBS Sports Network. Tickets are available for purchase by calling 407-355-2200 or online at For all the latest news and updates, visit and follow the team on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


The 2014 South Division Champion Orlando Predators enters its 24th season as Central Florida’s most exciting and innovative professional sports franchise. Proud members of the Arena Football League, the Predators have achieved unprecedented success on the field. Orlando has advanced to the AFL playoffs a league-leading 22 times in their history while securing seven conference championships, including two ArenaBowl Championship victories in 1998 and 2000.