The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Orlando Predators Orlando Predators

Predators Make Roster Moves, Add DB Derricus Purdy

Monday February 2, 2015

 ORLANDO – Feb. 2, 2015 – The Orlando Predators made several roster moves Friday, beginning with the addition of defensive back Derricus Purdy. Purdy enters his rookie season in the Arena Football League after attending training camp with the Chicago Bears in 2014.

“Derricus is a young, energetic defender that plays with great physicality,” said Head Coach Rob Keefe. “He has the strength to re-route receivers at the line of scrimmage, but is still fluid in coverage. Derricus fits the mold of what we look for in a defensive back and I’m looking forward to seeing him compete.”

During his four-year career at Texas Southern University, Purdy (5-11, 185, Texas Southern) registered 67 total tackles with one tackle for loss, nine pass breakups and one forced fumble. He gained 141 yards with two touchdowns on five interceptions.

The Predators also traded center Zack Williams (6-4, 310, Washington State) to the Las Vegas Outlaws in exchange for the No. 1 overall pick in the Arena Football League’s waiver claim order. Orlando will now have the first opportunity to claim any player placed on reassignment by another AFL team.

The Orlando Predators 2015 season opener against the Philadelphia Soul is scheduled for 2:00pm on Sunday, March 29 at the Amway Center in downtown Orlando. Tickets are available for purchase by calling 844-455-PRED (7733).

For all the latest news and updates, visit and follow the team on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

The 2014 South Division Champion Orlando Predators enters its 24th season as Central Florida’s most exciting and innovative professional sports franchise. Proud members of the Arena Football League, the Predators have achieved unprecedented success on the field. Orlando has advanced to the AFL playoffs a league-leading 22 times in their history while securing seven conference championships, including two ArenaBowl Championship victories in 1998 and 2000.