The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Issues Statement on San Antonio Talons

Monday October 13, 2014

 CHICAGO – The San Antonio Talons will go dormant for the 2015 AFL season, the Arena Football League office announced today. Discussions are ongoing with interested parties to operate a San Antonio franchise again in the near future.

“San Antonio is a very desirable city for the AFL and efforts will continue to bring Arena Football back to the Alamo City,” AFL Commissioner Scott C. Butera said. “The AFL has the utmost appreciation for the passion and support Talons fans have shown their team and we look forward to returning to San Antonio.”

The addition of the Las Vegas Outlaws means that season 28 of the AFL will commence with 13 franchises competing in an 18 game schedule spread out over a 20 week regular season. The full 2015 regular season schedule will be made available in the coming weeks.

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2014 season. The AFL schedule culminates each season with the ArenaBowl on ESPN.