The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Orlando Predators Orlando Predators

Predators Retain 17 Players during AFL’s Exclusive Period

Wednesday September 24, 2014

ORLANDO – The Orlando Predators retained 17 players from its 2014 South Division Championship roster during the Arena Football League’s Exclusive Period, the franchise has announced. During the Exclusive Period, which official began on September 8th, teams may only contact and submit contracts to retain players from their own 2014 rosters.

Orlando exercised one-year rookie options on the contracts of 14 players from last year’s roster, ensuring all 14 players will return to the team for the 2015 season. Additionally, the Predators agreed to terms on new contracts with three veterans in quarterback Bernard Morris, wide receiver Larry Brackins, and defensive back Erick McIntosh.

After arriving midway through the 2014 season, Morris (6-4, 225, Marshall) started 10 of the team’s final 12 games and proceeded to throw for 2,772 yards and 55 touchdowns while adding 336 yards and 17 scores on the ground.

The group of first-year players retained included 2014 AFL Rookie of the Year Greg Carr (6-6, 230, Florida State), who led all rookie receivers in the AFL with 113 receptions for 1,435 yards and 36 touchdowns in 18 regular season games. Car added 10 yards and another score on six rushing attempts and was successful on six two-point conversion attempts, resulting in 240 total points scored.

In addition to Carr, the list of active players who had options exercised includes wide receivers Kendal Thompkins, Gerald Young, and Michael Rios; offensive linemen Hayworth Hicks, Zack Williams, Bryan Collins, Justin Wells, and Michael Simons; defensive linemen Earl Okine and Meshak Williams; and defensive back O’Hara Fluellen.

The team also exercised options on the contracts of wide receiver Khalil Paden and defensive lineman TJ Fatinikun, both of whom remain on the AFL’s “Other League Exempt” list. Fatinikun was recently signed to the practice squad of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Paden is currently playing for the Ottawa RedBlacks of the Canadian Football League. In the event that either player returns to the AFL, Orlando will hold their rights for an additional season.

The 2014 South Division Champion Orlando Predators enter their 24th season as Central Florida’s most exciting and innovative professional sports franchise. Proud members of the Arena Football League, the Predators have achieved unprecedented success on the field. Orlando has advanced to the AFL playoffs a league-leading 22 times in their history while securing seven conference championships, including two ArenaBowl Championship victories in 1998 and 2000.