The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Announces All-Arena Defensive Teams

Wednesday August 13, 2014

CHICAGO – Eighteen players earned 2014 First and Second Team All-Arena Defense honors, the AFL Office announced today.

Headlining the First Team All-Arena squad at defensive end were James Ruffin, who led the League with 14 sacks as a member of the Spokane Shock, and Ted Jennings, who collected 11 sacks of his own with the Philadelphia Soul. San Jose SaberCats nose guard Jason Stewart, earned First Team recognition as well after collecting 12.5 sacks on the season.

First Team All-Arena Mac linebacker honors went to Beau Bell of the LA KISS, who finished his 2014 campaign with 12.5 sacks, while the First Team Jack linebacker was Tanner Varner, who led the Orlando Predators with five interceptions and four forced fumbles this season.

Marquis Floyd of the Arizona Rattlers, Varmah Sonie of the Portland Thunder and Marrio Norman of the Cleveland Gladiators were selected First Team All-Arena defensive backs. Floyd led the League with 13 interceptions, while Norman tallied a franchise-record 12 picks on the year. Sonie led all AFL rookies with nine interceptions and 25 pass breakups. Spokane Shock defensive back Terrance Sanders also earned First Team All-Arena honors as a kick return specialist. Sanders led the League with 1,687 kickoff return yards and five combined kick return touchdowns.

Nine more players earned Second Team honors, including: defensive ends Cliff Dukes of the Arizona Rattlers and Mike Lewis of the Iowa Barnstormers; Cleveland Gladiators nose guard Willie McGinnis; San Jose SaberCats Mac linebacker Francis Maka; Portland Thunder Jack linebacker Bryce Peila; defensive backs Cameron McGlenn of the New Orleans VooDoo, Kelvin Rodgers of the San Antonio Talons and Rayshaun Kizer of the Philadelphia Soul; and kick return specialist Larry Beavers of the New Orleans VooDoo.

First Team All-Arena Defense
DE James Ruffin, Spokane
DE Ted Jennings, Philadelphia
NG Jason Stewart, San Jose
MLB Beau Bell, Los Angeles
JLB Tanner Varner, Orlando
DB Marquis Floyd, Arizona
DB Varmah Sonie, Portland
DB Marrio Norman, Cleveland
KR Terrance Sanders, Spokane

Second Team All-Arena Defense
DE Cliff Dukes, Arizona
DE Mike Lewis, Iowa
NG Willie McGinnis, Cleveland
MLB Francis Maka, San Jose
JLB Bryce Peila, Portland
DB Cameron McGlenn, New Orleans
DB Kelvin Rodgers, San Antonio
DB Rayshaun Kizer, Philadelphia
KR Larry Beavers, New Orleans

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. The ESPN family of networks and CBS Sports Network will nationally broadcast AFL games each week for the entire 2014 season. The AFL schedule culminates with ArenaBowl XXVII Saturday, August 23, 2014 on ESPN.