The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Tampa Bay Storm Tampa Bay Storm

Andre Bowden Elected to Arena Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Monday August 11, 2014

TAMPA BAY – The Tampa Bay Storm is pleased to announce that former Tampa Bay Storm Ironman Andre Bowden has been elected to the Arena Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

“Andre was a great player that played a pivotal role in the Storm’s ArenaBowl championships,” said Storm head coach Lawrence Samuels.  “We were teammates on great Storm teams and it is an honor to know that we will now be teammates in the Hall of Fame.”


Bowden spent 11 seasons in the Arena Football League, playing 10 years with the Storm at the fullback and linebacker positions.


The two-way player starred at a time when AFL players needed to play both offense and defense.  A true Ironman, Bowden excelled at the fullback and linebacker positions.  In 2012 he was named one of the “Top 25” Ironmen in AFL history.


Bowden finished his Storm career as the team’s all-time career leader in rushing attempts (416), rushing yards (1,151) and rushing touchdowns (86).  On the defensive side of the ball, Bowden is the team’s all-time career leader in sacks (33.0), he ranks second all-time in fumble recoveries (14) and seventh all-time in forced fumbles (7).


The three-time ArenaBowl champion and All-Arena Selection finished his AFL career ranked third all-time in rushing touchdowns (103), fourth all-time in rushes (446) and ninth all-time in rushing yards (1,248).  He holds the AFL postseason record for rushing attempts (79) and ranks second in the League in postseason history in rushing yards (228).


The other members of the 2014 Hall of Fame Class are: wide receiver Damian Harrell, a five-time All-Arena selection, two-time Offensive Player of the Year and the AFL’s all-time receiving leader; offensive and defensive lineman Kyle Moore-Brown, a three-time All-Ironman selection, two-time ArenaBowl champion and the League record holder for most consecutive starts; and defensive back Omarr Smith, a four-time ArenaBowl champion who holds the record for most career ArenaBowl tackles.


The AFL Hall of Fame Class of 2014 will be inducted during the 2015 Arena Football League season.