The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Orlando Predators Orlando Predators

OL Justin Wells Inks Deal with Edmonton

Tuesday April 29, 2014

 ORLANDO, FLOrlando Predators offensive lineman Justin Wells has signed a contract with the Edmonton Eskimos of the Canadian Football League, the franchise announced today. Wells was placed on the Arena Football League’s “Other League Exempt List” with Monday’s transactions.

“We built our program to be an environment in which young players can develop and perfect their skills,” said Head Coach Rob Keefe. “Justin is a player that took coaching well and applied those techniques to field. We are extremely proud to see Justin make the transition to the CFL and wish him the best of luck as he furthers his football career.”

Wells (6-4, 325, Saint Augustine’s) played in six games for the Predators this season. As a rookie in 2014, he helped produce the Arena Football League’s top-ranked total offense (320.3 ypg) while protecting quarterback Jason Boltus, who ranks first overall in total offensive touchdowns (53).

Prior to entering the Arena Football League, Wells was signed by the Carolina Panthers as an undrafted free agent, where he played in 2012 and 2013. He was assigned to Arizona Rattlers before being acquired by the Predators via trade on January 16th.

A native of Baltimore, Maryland, Wells played collegiately at Saint Augustine’s University (Raleigh, NC), where he earned AP Little All-American accolades as a senior in 2010.

The Orlando Predators take to the road in Week 8 to battle the San Jose SaberCats (3-3) on Saturday, May 3rd. The matchup can be viewed live exclusively on Kickoff is scheduled for 10:30pm EST.

The Orlando Predators are heading into their 23rd season as Orlando’s most exciting and innovative professional sports franchise. Proud members of the Arena Football League, the Predators have achieved unprecedented success on the field, reaching the AFL postseason a league-leading 19 times in their history. The Orlando Predators have advanced to the AFL playoffs a league-leading 19 times in their history while securing seven conference championships, including two ArenaBowl Championship victories in 1998 and 2000.