The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Announces All-Arena Offensive Teams

Thursday August 8, 2013

 Philadelphia earns four First Team selections

CHICAGO – Eighteen players earned 2013 First and Second Team All-Arena Offensive honors, the AFL Office announced today. The Philadelphia Soul garnered a League-high four First Team selections and tied the Arizona Rattlers for the most overall All-Arena offensive players with five.

Headlining the First Team All-Arena Offense was Spokane Shock QB Erik Meyer, who set new single-season franchise records with 4,667 passing yards and 112 touchdowns. Meyer began the season with an AFL-record 193 pass attempts without an interception.

For the third consecutive year, Philadelphia Soul FB Derrick Ross earned First Team All-Arena recognition. Ross became the League’s all-time leading rusher in 2013, bringing his career yardage total to 1,773. “The Boss” also set a new single-season franchise record with 35 rushing scores on the year.

Spokane Shock WR Adron Tennell capped off his record-setting regular season with the first All-Arena selection of his career. Tennell set new team records with 49 receiving touchdowns and 336 total points in 2013. Joining Tennell as a first-time All-Arena selection is former teammate and current Tampa Bay Storm WR Joe Hills. Hills enjoyed a breakout season in 2013, setting new franchise records for receptions (133), receiving yards (1,861), receiving touchdowns (42) and points scored (262). Philadelphia Soul WR Anthony Jones earned the final First Team selection at receiver after becoming the first player in League history to record three consecutive seasons with at least 2,000 receiving yards.

The Philadelphia Soul also earned two First Team selections along the offensive line, as C Brennen Carvalho and OL Christian Johnson got the nod. San Jose Sabercats OL Rich Ranglin garnered First Team recognition as well, as did Arizona Rattlers K GARRETT LINDHOLM. Lindholm set new League records with 167 extra point tries and 158 conversions this season.

Nine more players earned Second Team All-Arena honors, including: Arizona Rattlers QB Nick Davila; Arizona Rattlers FB Odie Armstrong; Arizona Rattlers WR Rod Windsor; Chicago Rush WR Reggie Gray; Jacksonville Sharks WR Jeron Harvey; Arizona Rattlers C Billy Eisenhardt; Arizona Rattlers OL Michael Huey; San Jose Sabercats OL George Bussey; and Philadelphia Soul K Carlos Martinez.

First Team All-Arena Offense
QB Erik Meyer, Spokane
FB Derrick Ross, Philadelphia
WR Adron Tennell, Spokane
WR Joe Hills, Tampa Bay
WR Anthony Jones, Philadelphia
C Brennen Carvalho, Philadelphia
OL Christian Johnson, Philadelphia
OL Rich Ranglin, San Jose
K Garrett Lindholm, Arizona

Second Team All-Arena Offense
QB Nick Davila, Arizona
FB Odie Armstrong, Arizona
WR Rod Windsor, Arizona
WR Reggie Gray, Chicago
WR Jeron Harvey, Jacksonville
C Billy Eisenhardt, Arizona
OL Michael Huey, Arizona
OL George Bussey, San Jose
K Carlos Martinez, Philadelphia

About the AFL
Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. CBS Sports Network will broadcast an AFL National Game of the Week on Saturday nights for the entire regular season and postseason through the semifinal round. The ArenaBowl XXVI Championship Game will air on the CBS Television Network on August 17, 2013.