The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Arena Football Hall of Fame Class to be Announced on CBS Sports Network

Tuesday August 6, 2013

 2013 Hall of Fame Class to be named during Conference Championship Weekend

CHICAGO – The Arena Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 will be announced during halftime of the National Conference championship game between the Arizona Rattlers (15-3) and Spokane Shock (14-4) at 9:30 p.m. ET this Saturday on CBS Sports Network.

The selection process began in June, when the Arena Football Hall of Fame Advisory Board narrowed the list of potential candidates down to ten finalists. Fans then voted on the finalists throughout the months of June and July, while current Arena Football Hall of Fame members submitted their official ballots during the final week of the 2013 regular season. All votes were then turned in to the Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors, who officially selected the 2013 Arena Football Hall of Fame Class.

The Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors consists of: MIKE DAILEY, a two-time ArenaBowl champion coach; JIM FOSTER, the inventor of Arena Football; TOM GOODHINES; a longtime League executive and current general manager of the Philadelphia Soul; JAY GRUDEN, a six-time ArenaBowl champion as both a player and coach; JERRY KURZ, a founding partner of the Arena Football League and current AFL Commissioner; and GENE NUDO, a longtime AFL coach and executive.

In order to be nominated for the 2013 Hall of Fame Class, candidates had to meet four criteria. If a player was active before 1989, he must have played for at least two seasons. For players after 1989, a minimum of three seasons of service are required. All players must be retired for three complete seasons. Coaches must have been active for a minimum of five seasons and need not be retired. There is no minimum number of seasons required for contributors, but significant advancement of the AFL is a prerequisite.

The formal Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held during the 2014 Arena Football League season.

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. CBS Sports Network will broadcast an AFL National Game of the Week on Saturday nights for the entire regular season and postseason through the semifinal round. The ArenaBowl XXVI Championship Game will air on the CBS Television Network on August 17, 2013.