The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

AFL Announces 2013 Arena Football Hall of Fame Finalists

Sunday June 23, 2013

 CHICAGO – After tallying the nominations put forth by the Arena Football Hall of Fame Advisory Board, the Arena Football League has named ten finalists for the Arena Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

“The Hall of Fame Advisory Board has nominated ten tremendous and very deserving finalists for this Hall of Fame Class,” AFL Commissioner Jerry B. Kurz said.

The finalists for the 2013 Arena Football Hall of Fame include: WR/LB CORY FLEMING, a five-time All-Arena selection; HC JOHN GREGORY, a two-time AFL Coach of the Year; WR/LB DARRYL HAMMOND, a four-time All-Ironman selection; WR/LB GREG HOPKINS, a four-time All-Arena and All-Ironman selection; QB ANDY KELLY, the 10th Greatest Quarterback in AFL History as voted on by the Silver Anniversary Committee in 2012; FB/LB Bob McMillen, a three-time ArenaBowl champion; SUPERVISOR OF OFFICIALS CARL T. PAGANELLI, a longtime AFL official, advisor and contributor to the League; OS Steve Papin, a two-time All-Arena selection who holds the League record for highest all-purpose yard-per-game average (200.4); WR/LB Lawrence Samuels, a five-time All-Arena selection, three-time ArenaBowl champion and MVP of ArenaBowl XVII; and DS Omarr Smith, a four-time ArenaBowl champion who holds the record for most career ArenaBowl tackles (35).

The League Office collected ballots from the Arena Football Hall of Fame Advisory Board, a group which consisted of former executives, journalists and media personnel with a long-time involvement in the game, on Wednesday, June 19. Each member selected ten candidates in the categories of players, coaches and contributors.

In order to be nominated for the 2013 Hall of Fame Class, candidates must meet four criteria. If a player was active before 1989, he must have played for at least two seasons. For players after 1989, a minimum of three seasons of service are required. All players must be retired for three complete seasons. Coaches must have been active for a minimum of five seasons and need not be retired. There is no minimum number of seasons required for contributors, but significant advancement of the AFL is a prerequisite.

Fans and current Hall of Fame members will vote on the finalists beginning on Monday, June 24, 2012. Votes will then be turned into the Hall of Fame Operating Board of Directors. The 2013 Hall of Fame Class will be announced during the 2013 Conference Championship weekend and inductions will be held during the 2014 Arena Football League regular season.

About the AFL

Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. CBS Sports Network will broadcast an AFL National Game of the Week on Saturday nights for the entire regular season and postseason through the semifinal round. The ArenaBowl XXVI Championship Game will air on the CBS Television Network on August 17, 2013.