The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

Philadelphia Soul Philadelphia Soul

Home | News | Schedule | Stats | Arena Info | Roster | Transactions | Dance Team | Forum | History | Team Info

Dolezel becomes Hall of Famer with Class of 2012

Tuesday April 9, 2013

 Philadelphia Coach to be Inducted After Record-Setting 13-Year Playing Career

PHILADELPHIA (April 9, 2013) – Philadelphia head coach Clint Dolezel will be inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame on April 13. The ceremony will take place before the Philadelphia Soul and Iowa Barnstormers game at 7 p.m. Along with Dolezel, five others, including Iowa head coach and former Philadelphia head coach Mike Hohensee, will be inducted as members of the Class of 2012.

The former standout quarterback finished his 13-year playing career in 2008 with the Dallas Desperados with career numbers: completed 3,749-of-5,698 passes (65.8 percent), a QB Rating of 117.75 and 95 victories as a starting quarterback.

“He might be the most competitive player that ever put on the pads,” said Philadelphia Soul general manager and AFL Hall of Fame Operating Board member, Tom Goodhines. “He was already acting as a coach on the field and was consistently among the League’s best year-in and year-out and has the statistics to back it up. His teams were always in the hunt for a title whenever he was under center.”

At the time of his retirement; Dolezel is No. 3 in career passing yards (44,564) and No. 2 in touchdown passes (931). Dolezel is also the first quarterback in AFL history to throw for over 400-yards in a game and first to do it six times. He matched one of the League’s most vaunted then-records by throwing for 11 touchdowns in a game three different times. He threw for over 100 touchdowns in a season twice (2006-07) and led his team to a 15-win season (15-1 in 2007). He also has a championship to his credit when he led the Grand Rapids Rampage to the title in 2001.

Others from the 2012 Hall of Fame Class include: QB Sherdrick Bonner, the Greatest Quarterback in AFL History according to the Silver Anniversary Committee in 2012; HC Mike Dailey, a two-time ArenaBowl champion coach (XIII, XIX); WR/DB Randy Gatewood, a six-time All-Arena selection and three-time All-Ironman selection; current Iowa Barnstormers HC Mike Hohensee, who won ArenaBowl XX as a Head Coach and owns the third spot in AFL history for most regular season wins (135); Founding Partner William Niro, one of the original founders of the AFL; and DB Clevan Thomas, a five-time All-Arena selection and 2002 Rookie of the Year and two-time Defensive Player of the Year.


The Philadelphia Soul are presented by Parx Casino. They capped their seventh Arena Football League season by capturing the 2012 American Conference championship. The Soul will play their next game on Saturday, April 13 against former Soul coach Mike Hohensee and the Iowa Barnstormers. For 2013 season tickets, contact the Soul sales department at (215) 253-4900 ext. 3, or request contact from a representative by filling out the form on Follow the Soul on Facebook at and Twitter at