The Home of Arena Football Fans since 1998

AFL Press Release

Top 25 QBs in AFL history: NO. 1-5

Friday April 20, 2012

 CHICAGO – Completing its countdown of the 25 Greatest Quarterbacks in AFL History, the Silver Anniversary Committee has announced the five greatest quarterbacks in Arena Football history.

The Committee, which consists of longtime League executives, coaches, media members and former players, was asked to weigh in on which quarterbacks best displayed excellence on the field, showcased the highest level of talent and meant the most to their teams.

1. Sherdrick Bonner

Bonner spent 14 seasons under center for the Arizona Rattlers. The five-time All-Arena selection was named MVP of ArenaBowl VIII. In all, he led the Rattlers to five ArenaBowl appearances and two championship wins. With 42,246 career passing yards, 855 touchdowns and 3,350 completions, Bonner ranks in the top five in virtually every career passing category. In 2010, the Rattlers retired his number 13 jersey.

2. Jay Gruden

Few men have more accolades in Arena Football than Jay Gruden. The 1992 League MVP led the Tampa Bay Storm to four ArenaBowl championships during his playing career. A 1999 AFL Hall of Fame inductee, Gruden was 68-13 in six seasons with the Storm. After retiring and turning to coaching following the 1996 season, Gruden put the pads back on for two more seasons in 2002 and 2003 with the Orlando Predators.

3. Mark Grieb

A three-time ArenaBowl champion, Mark Grieb has become synonymous with SaberCats football. The 2002 AFL Offensive Player of the Year has spent 12 seasons in San Jose, cementing his legacy in Arena Football along the way. Grieb has been selected First-Team All-Arena twice, earned two ArenaBowl MVP awards and set the AFL single-season passing yardage record in 2011 with 5,312.

4. Aaron Garcia

If there is a passing record to be owned in Arena Football, it likely belongs to Aaron Garcia. The only man in professional football history to pass for 1,000 touchdowns in a career, Garcia has earned two Offensive Player of the Year awards during his AFL record 17 seasons of Arena Football. In 2011, Garcia became the first quarterback in League history to cross the 50,000 career yardage milestone. That year, he also won his first championship.

5. Clint Dolezel

Clint Dolezel got his Arena Football start with the Milwaukee Mustangs in 1995. He was a three-time All-Arena selection during his 13-year career and earned an ArenaBowl XV championship with the Grand Rapids Rampage. In 2007, Dolezel became the first quarterback in League history to lead his team to 15 wins in a season. He also became the first pro football quarterback to pass for 800 touchdowns in a career that season. Two years later, he became the first quarterback to 900 passing scores.

25 Greatest Quarterbacks in Arena Football History

1. Sherdrick Bonner

2. Jay Gruden

3. Mark Grieb

4. Aaron Garcia

5. Clint Dolezel

6. Kurt Warner

7. Mike Pawlawski

8. Ben Bennett

9. Mike Perez

10. Art Schlichter

11. Andy Kelly

12. John Dutton

13. Matt D'Orazio

14. Chris Greisen

15. Tony Graziani

16. Raymond Philyaw

17. Todd Hammel

18. Pat O'Hara

19. Joe Germaine

20. John Kaleo

21. Brett Dietz

22. Joe Hamilton

23. Shane Stafford

24. Mike Hold

25. Connell Maynor